JEOL has been awarded the 2016 Good Design Award for its "NMR spectrometer Z" systems


We are pleased to announce that JEOL Ltd. (President Gon-emon Kurihara) has been awarded the 2016 Good Design Award for its "NMR spectrometer Z" systems.

Product Name

NMR spectrometer Z (JNM-ECZR/ECZS series)


The Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) technique analyzes components in a mixture, structure, the nature of substances, etc. at a molecular level. It is essential for drug discovery, food safety testing, development of new organic materials, fuel cells, etc., and provides an essential contribution to society and the environment. The NMR spectrometer Z is a “next generation” system that incorporates the world’s highest performance in the smallest chassis, so that it can fulfill a wide variety of applications. The heart of the NMR, the spectrometer, was reduced in size by 55% and the power consumption by 65% compared to earlier models.
GOOD DESIGN AWARD 2016 NMR spectrometer Z


Hiroto Suematsu, Director, JEOL RESONANCE Inc.


Kenichi Hachitani, Team 1, Development Group, Engineering Division, JEOL RESONANCE Inc.


Ken Kiyoyuki Okuyama CEO, KEN OKUYAMA DESIGN Co. Ltd.
Yuko Morita, Mechanical Design Team, Design Group, Engineering Division, JEOL RESONANCE Inc.

More information (Good Design Award)

About Good Design Award
GmarkThe Good Design Award is a comprehensive design-promotion system that picks good design out of a variety of unfolding phenomena, and aims to enrich our lives, industries, and society as a whole by highlighting and celebrating these works. It is hosted by the Japan Institute for Design Promotion, a public interest incorporated foundation. It's precursor, the Good Design Selection System (or G Mark System), was founded in 1957 by the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (the current Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry), and has been engaged in this work for about 60 years. Submissions come from a wide range of fields, and roughly 1200 designs are recognized every year. Over 59 years, around 45,000 designs have been recognized by the awards. Recipients of a Good Design Award are granted use of the G Mark symbol, which has been an emblem of good design for over half a century.